EUMETSAT is the permanent secretariat of the CGMS and responsible for securing the annual plenary session, following up of plenary actions, guiding CGMS during the inter-sessional periods between plenary sessions, guiding the CGMS working groups, and general management and administration.

Working groups

There are five CGMS Working Groups: WG I on satellite systems and operations; WG II on satellite data and products; WG III on operational continuity and contingency planning; WG IV on support for end users; and SWCG on space weather coordination.

International science working groups

In addition, there are a few International Science Working Groups interacting with CGMS: The International TOVS Working Group – ITWG; the International Precipitation Working Group – IPWG; the International Winds Working Group – IWWG; the International Radio Occultation Working Group – IROWG and the International Clouds Working Group (ICWG). The last four Working Groups originate from CGMS WG II and plenary sessions.

Other relevant working groups or teams

In addition, CGMS plenary sessions also result in actions for the creation of Task Forces or Task Teams (on e.g. Meta Data, socio economic benefits, etc.) which are of a less permanent nature.Between sessions of the annual CGMS Plenary meetings, the Secretariat is also in charge of facilitating the communication between CGMS Members and of ensuring that actions agreed during CGMS Plenary meetings are fulfilled. Finally, the CGMS Secretariat represents CGMS Members in a number of International bodies such as the Committee on Earth Observation Satellites (CEOS) and its related Earth Observation International Coordination Working Group (EO-ICWG), Group on Earth Observation (GEO), and the Space Frequency Coordination Group (SFCG).